Skip to content

Walmart Has No Shame

July 7, 2007

Why people shop at Walmart is a mystery to me.   There is more than enough proof that the economic backwash from the Walmart infection is not good for our country. Why anyone would work at Walmart is perhaps a greater mystery to me.  I understand that there needs to be a niche for these employees, but surely they can find a better job.

I admit to being stunned after reading the news in the Tampa Tribune that Walmart took life insurance policies out on their workers, and then cashed them in upon the death of the employee.  I know Walmart to be without honor, but the following was way over the top.  After reading this, ask yourself why would anyone continue to work at a Walmart?

When Karen Armatrout died in 1997, her employer, Wal-Mart, collected thousands of dollars on a life insurance policy the retail giant had taken out without telling her, according to a lawsuit filed in U.S. District Court.

Armatrout was one of about 350,000 employees Wal-Mart secretly insured nationwide, said Texas attorney Michael D. Myers, who estimated the company collected on 75 to 100 policies involving Florida employees who died.

Myers is seeking to make the Armatrout lawsuit a class-action case on behalf of the estates of all the Florida employees who died while unwittingly insured by Wal-Mart.

“Creepy’s a good word for it,” Myers said. “If you ask the executives that decided to buy these policies and the insurance companies that sold them, they would say this was designed to create tax benefits for the company, which would use the benefits for benevolent purposes such as buying employee medical benefits.

“If you asked me, I would say they did it to make more money.”

Technorati Tags:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. notalib permalink
    July 13, 2007 1:43 PM

    You did not address the message. What are you going to do with the 1,000,000 misplaced workers? Many of them would probably never get a chance anywhere else. Was what the did with the life insurance policies illegal no, was it morally wrong, sure, does it change my mind about shopping there, nope. As soon as the mom and pop stores meet the price of Walmart, the variety of Walmart, let me know. But it does not matter to me if it is Walmart, Fleet Farm, Shopko, Kmart or any of the big box stores. The bottom line is how much is in my wallet when I leave , the days of mom and pop in the big city are long gone.

  2. July 7, 2007 10:47 PM

    Why am I not shocked?

    First you failed to comment on the thrust of my post. Not unusual for you, but still all the same I wonder what you have to say about the issue I posted on that has generated more national concern about Wal-Mart.

    I am always amazed at how a certain group in this country supports Wal-Mart, as you have in the comment above, while being impacted negatively by this huge company. Do you like to see the small businesses run out of town when Wal-Mart drops in? Do you favor Wal-Mart using state health programs instead of providing coverage for their employees? You must like paying taxes more than I do. Well God Bless YOU!

    You get so screwed when you shop there. And I bet you do not even get a kiss first. You are aware that Wal-Mart is only able to provide low prices because taxpayers heavily subsidize them?

  3. notalib permalink
    July 7, 2007 9:15 PM

    I was just at WALMART today buying a bike and a few items for the ol’ pool. One of the people who helped me had to use a walker to get around, young man very nice very helpful. In the bike dept the man who helped me was very sweet, loved the bikes we went over each one 3 times explaining to me what works what doesn’t how he has his bike setup, then I learned about his knee problem, how he once was able to run faster than anyone on the basketball court and the time he got a piece of glass in his leg at the beach…..eventually we went thought the bikes one more time, he was a very nice gentleman, as we were leaving another worker came up to him to let him know she was taking her 15 min break, listening to her speak you knew she could never be an order taker at McDonalds.

    So tell me all you walmart haters, just these few people who else would hire them? DO you ever see them at Marshall Fields? A Boston Store? How about Target?

    Where do you suggest the 1,000,000 people employed by Walmart find a new job. You going to hire a few thousand?

    I just love the arrogance and ignorance of the Walmart bashers, they put themselves up on some pedestals but don’t really see the people who they are actually hurting with the HATE WALMART AGENDA.

  4. July 7, 2007 10:48 AM

    Sounds like a motive to me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

