Skip to content

Throw A Cup Of Boiling Water Into The Frigid Air

January 15, 2009

From my childhood days comes this great memory.

antarctica_weather_ice_throw1

This one comes from the days as a kid when I was reading every book I could about how weather happens, and some of the science behind it.  The look on my mother’s face when I told her what I had in mind was not what I had hoped for, but once she let me try it she also had to find the amusement in the whole notion.  Right?

Lets us have some fun with the brutally cold winter air that is gripping the nation.  Here in Madison it is -12, so this little idea works remarkably well.

Get a mug of boiling water (kids need to have a parent present) and go out onto the steps of your home.  Lean away from the pavement you walk on and throw the water up into the air.

Watch what happens!

Pretty Cool! 

Write and tell me it you have the same stupid smile on your face after completing this project that I do..even at age 46.

Hey, if we have to have this cold weather we should have some fun!

Now for the science behind the fun.

http://math.ucr.edu:80/home/baez/physics/General/hot_water.html

Have a nice day.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    December 2, 2010 4:18 PM

    Nice simple winter fun. This is a great idea for this weekend with the kids.

  2. January 17, 2009 9:04 PM

    Thanks for this. I haven’t even done it yet (but I plan to) and I, at 45, have a stupid smile on my face.

  3. January 17, 2009 11:35 AM

    Excellent fun, not quite cold enough in England …..yet

  4. jjhoogie40 permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:44 PM

    Good to know it should work here i live in Canada and its Freezing here thanks

  5. kyle permalink
    January 16, 2009 4:59 PM

    That science behind it page doesn’t really say much about the reason for this experiment’s actions. Do you know why?

  6. edh permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:11 AM

    how cold does it have to be to work?

  7. Adam permalink
    January 15, 2009 10:20 PM

    In Muncie Indiana..it’s -8 and i’m going to go try this..thanks for the info.
    stay warm everybody!

  8. kyle permalink
    January 15, 2009 4:04 PM

    If you have kids they are pretty lucky to have a fun dad. Here in Egg Harbor it is about -10 and my grandkids are here. They are taking turns throwing mugs of heated water off the balcony. I was told by the youngest that this is better than TV. High praise indeed. Thanks for sharing a great idea for a cold day.

    Kyle

  9. January 15, 2009 12:43 PM

    Thanks for that….my stepdaughter loved it!

Trackbacks

  1. AreYouWith.Me » Throw A Cup Of Boiling Water Into The Frigid Air
  2. Flattered & Blushing linkaround | The Anchoress

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

