Skip to content

Christiane Amanpour And Her Eyeglasses Make “This Week” Impressive

August 1, 2010

I like smart women in television news.  That is why I admire Gwen Ifill, and Judy Woodruff.  It is also why I got up extra early this Sunday morning and made coffee (something I am not supposed to drink) in order to watch “This Week” with Christiane Amanpour.  I was mighty pleased with what I saw. With style, professionalism, and insight Christiane Amanpour is about  to make “This Week” must see Sunday morning television.

There is nothing like a truly substantive person in charge of a program with the heft that “This Week” carries.  Before I go further, I need to be up-front with my readers.  While I was a faithful fan of the ABC broadcast when David Brinkley was the host, and also when Sam Donaldson and  Cokie Roberts shared duties, I never watched when George Stephanopoulos anchored the broadcast.  I like the stalwarts of journalism to be in the role of anchor for the Sunday morning talk shows.  I grew up that way, and am not in the mood to change.  So it was a pleasure to grind coffee beans (chocolate raspberry) and await Christiane Amanpour’s air time.

Christiane Amanpour has the credentials to talk about international affairs with the best educated minds in the field.  She can also dice and slice to get to the core of the essential political news.   Having said that I was hoping for more ‘tenth paragraph’ type questions.  In other words, probing into matters that are often buried in the newspapers, but which matter to policy-makers, and those who care about the issues.  Amanpour is well versed  on matters that are complex and inter-related, and I hope that her show will be able to rise to her level, and at the same time bring her audience along.  If that is done the show will have high ratings, and the public will be better informed.

I trust there will be more time alloted for intelligent guests to elongate their responses.  Dropping the  last several minutes of the show where the deaths of the week were noted, late-night  talk show laughs regurgitated, and a picture of the week bounced on the screen could be better used for actual content.

The segues between topics in the roundtable discussion need to be worked on as they were anything but seamless, but this is a first show and my critical view about this matter really not important.  It is just one of the elements I take note of in a geeky type of way, and just hope it improves over time.

What I loved, and I suspect many did not, is the use of  Amanpour’s glasses as more a prop than an enhancement for sight.  She slipped them on and off for more of an effect than for anything else.  While biting on a rim made for a snapshot to be used in upcoming promotional spots for the show, I am sure that there will be those who find the glasses a distraction.  Without demeaning her professionalism in any way, I thought the glasses made an already beautiful woman even more sexy.

Time will tell if the glasses remain a part of the broadcast.  I know I plan to make Christiane Amanpour a part of my Sunday morning routine.  The coffee most likely will not.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 2:19 PM

    I need to add in my defense that as one who views media with a rather critical eye for the most part, the over-all package (person) is something to weigh in on. TV, after all, is a visual medium, and there was no way to not comment on the obvious appeal that Amanpour brings to the show. It may seem sexist, but to be honest I also chided Anderson Cooper about his good looks when he took over for the highly cerebral Aaron Brown who I very much respected. There is no way in this era where everything is viewed from a ratings perspective to not make the comment I did. I am most assured that a consultant has already made the same comment about Amanpour for the show and ABC, and got paid to do it!

    But I do appreciate the time you took to write and the comment you made.

    Have a nice day.

  2. Marilyn Lee permalink
    August 4, 2010 6:49 AM

    Deke wrote: Without demeaning her professionalism in any way, I thought the glasses made an already beautiful woman even more sexy.

    Geez, Deke, IMO you just demeaned your own professionalism. I was with you up until the sentence above. Think about it. Can you imagine yourself writing the same sentence and substituting Brinkley’s or Danaldson’s name? Can you imagine yourself commenting on that handsome devil Brian Williams and his looks? I thought not.

    I have followed Christiane’s interviews from around the world, and totally agree with you that if she says something is happening, it probably is. This was not the first time I have heard her. She sets the standard for excellent interviewing. When she talks, you forget about her looks or her legs,and while the camera loves her too, it is her interview that truly is the focus.

    Have to tell you, if I had been at your kaffee klatch when you made that comment, you’d have been cleaning coffee off yourself.

    mlerc

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

