Skip to content

Photos Of My Magnificent Friend

November 1, 2011

For the second year in a row I feel privileged to have the opportunity to follow around a fixture in our neighborhood. Last year I jokingly referred to myself as the hawk’s official photographer.  This year I am taking the task more seriously.  Today I was awestruck by the beauty and majesty of this bird of prey as it hunted for food.   It was as if the hawk was posing and trying to assist in my framing the shot.

I hope the images captured today inspires others to walk and search for the best shows that Mother Nature is constantly providing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 2:07 PM

    Beautiful! Is it a red-tailed hawk? I can’t see the tail colors, but the speckled ring on its abdomen makes me think it’s a red-tail.

  2. November 2, 2011 10:05 AM

    Wonderful pictures! Thanks for sharing them with the rest o’ us.

  3. CommonCents permalink
    November 2, 2011 7:37 AM

    Great photos. Have hawks here, too. Hate to see them eating other beautiful birds, but I do like that they help keep the squirrel and rabbit population down!

  4. Darlene & Lori permalink
    November 1, 2011 8:18 PM

    Beautiful! We had hawks here but, they were eating the squirrels… which I hated to see. Poor things screamed. I think wildlife is beautiful but, the feeding part disturbs me. Unless it is something feeding on a snake. Then I’m good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

