Skip to content

Royce Humphrey Estate To Be Auctioned, My Family Home To Be Sold June 2nd

May 8, 2012

My Dad and Mom’s home and wooded land in Hancock, Wisconsin will be up for an estate auction on Saturday June 2nd starting at 10:00 A.M.   Following the sale of the land personal property will be auctioned.    A copy of the sale is at the bottom of this blog post.  

 My photos from summer 2010.

This past year has been an emotional one with the death of my Dad, a special uncle, and also the passing of my mother-in-law, Marion Wilson.  James and I are reminded that God does not give us more than we can shoulder, but I would not be not totally candid if I did not admit to questioning that at times. 

I keep reminding myself of something Dad told me when I was a teenager, and mentioned several times to me as an adult.  In fact I mentioned the advice the second to last time we spoke in March 2011, as a mighty fog rolled over the front lawn of the home place while we looked out from the living room windows.    This time, however, I was the one passing the wisdom back to Dad. 

Dad would hold his hands as if on a steering wheel, (and in early years would bounce around as if in a jostling truck) and then use the analogy of a snow truck driver when telling me how to handle the rough times of life. 

“Hold on tight to the wheel, drop the blade, and go straight down the road.” 

So I did.

Here is a sample of how Mom’s kitchen looked in the home.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    May 9, 2012 8:54 PM

    I like this correction to the old saying better: “Some people say God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. That’s a lie. God gives you more than you can handle so you have to lean on Him.”

  2. Patrick permalink
    May 9, 2012 8:15 PM

    My heart goes out to you.

  3. skip1930 permalink
    May 8, 2012 9:14 PM

    Good luck and have fun with the auction. Some 40 acres of hardwood, holy cow. Hope you have a buyer for that.

    My college roommate, Dave Sink [We had three in the dorm room. Carl F. Kitchen, Dave Sink, and Craig Weis. We use to answer the phone with, 'Kitchen-Sink-and Weis' [pronounced correctly as Wise.]

    Dave kept a Ithaca side by side in the bolster above his bed in Watterson Towers, Adam House, Illinois State University. We’d go shooting on the weekends.

    Later in life Dave’s daughters became Texas State Troopers.

    Kitchen sold electric servo motors for rockets to the defense contractors. Last I heard from him he was on a ‘courtesy’ cruse on a USS Aerocraft carrier going to Hawaii from San Diego. A perk of the job.

    Yea, it’s tough to loose parents

    skip.

  4. Ed Show librarian (02-18-11) permalink
    May 8, 2012 3:00 PM

    Sensing this is a tough transition for you and am writing to extend condolences and give you a cyber-pat on the back. My dad used to say, “Nothing is ever as bad as you think it’s going to be.”

  5. May 8, 2012 2:22 PM

    I can’t even imagine what going through that is like.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

