Skip to content

WGN Slipping Off The Radio Dial

January 3, 2013

Things just get more comical, and messy at WGN radio.  Once the best place on the radio dial, WGN is now becoming more a weekly joke.

The lastest example.

Barely 20 minutes into Carol Roth’s very first show on WGN-AM (720) Wednesday, her first guest dropped the S-bomb. Specifically, the word was “bullshit,” uttered by a female psychologist who was talking about how difficult it is for many people to change.

Maybe Roth didn’t hear it. Maybe she thought listeners didn’t hear it. Or maybe, being the radio rookie she is, she didn’t know how to react. (Hint: Learn where the “dump button” is.)

In any case, Roth offered no explanation, no apology and not even an acknowledgement that the barnyard epithet had gone flying out over the 50,000-watt airwaves of the Tribune Co.-owned news/talk station.

A former investment banker who’s now a business strategist and author, Roth grew up in north suburban Deerfield. But you’d never know it from the generic hour she hosted Wednesday. The only truly local parts of the show were the news and traffic reports.

Her other guest was a pal from the Fox Business Network, where Roth appears as a frequent contributor. Their topic was privatizing government assets — from highways to employment services — in order to reduce the national deficit. When a caller challenged Roth to explain how well the privatization of Chicago’s parking meters was working out, she hemmed and hawed and spoke in the generalities of an uninformed outsider.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. IRV permalink
    January 4, 2013 10:30 PM

    This is tragic. For thirty or forty years my radio NEVER left 720!!! NEVER!!! I could have had a one station radio. I had radios that I didn’t know how to move the dial. My car radio, my little old portable GE radio here in my “office”….never were tuned elsewhere. Listen out on the deck, listen in the garage, listen at the bedside,drive to my accounts (I’m an outside salesman)…Always WGN.

    I could live with Greg Jarret, I’m sure if I still listened I could live with John Williams. But then they invited into my life the right winger McConnell or whatever his name is and i had to search for an alternative. So now, for me, WCPT is where i go. I’m not a fan of Stephannie Miller so I listen to the SCORE until 11AM. But my old radio wife WGN is now dead to me.

    Tragic.

  2. January 3, 2013 2:38 PM

    This is sad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

