Skip to content

Throw Boiling Water Up Into The Frigid Air—Great Winter Fun (But Please Play Safe)

January 19, 2013

So here is an idea that seems to come up every year on my blog–when the weather conditions are just right.  That means when it is so cold that cardinals first place their seeds in a crock pot before eating.

Wisconsin, and much of the midwest is about to experience some truly frigid air.  And so I have an idea for something quite remarkable.

First let me say kids needs to have an adult to help with this fun, and adults need to know it is OK to act like kids and enjoy this activity too.

This one comes from the days as a kid when I was reading every book I could about how weather happens, and some of the science behind it.  The look on my mother’s face when I told her what I had in mind was not what I had hoped for, but once she let me try it she also had to find the amusement in the whole notion.  Right?

Get a mug of boiling water (kids need to have a parent present) and go out onto the steps of your home.  Lean away from the pavement you walk on, and throw the water up into the air.

Watch what happens!

throw hot water into cold air

Pretty Cool!

Write and tell me it you have the same stupid smile on your face after completing this project that I do…even at age 50.

Hey, if we have to have this cold weather we should have some fun!

Now for the science behind the fun.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Margy Rydzynski permalink
    January 19, 2013 1:44 PM

    Oh, that looks like fun! We never did that, even though I grew in Buffalo, New York. It certainly got cold enough there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

