Skip to content

“What is Duck Dynasty?”

December 20, 2013

About two weeks ago during lunch I asked James what many in this nation might think to be a question that signifies I must live under a rock.

I honestly asked “What is Duck Dynasty?”

The title gets thrown around here and there on television but I really had no idea.  After he gave me the 10-second answer to my question I had to look at him to see if he was not embellishing the answer, or if he was being totally factual.

Obviously, given my question we have never watched the show, and just based on the redneck quality of what I have since learned about Duck Dynasty never will.  Why would we?

More to the point, why would anyone?

What passes for entertainment too often is something I more and more find really perplexing.  It has nothing to do with my age, and I certainly am not snooty or elitist.  Rather my feelings are based on valuing my time on earth, and using it more wisely with good reads, movies, and friendships.   Frankly, having time for Duck Dynasty is not even something I can fathom for our home.

Now the question that is being debated nationally is what shall happen to a bigot from Duck Dynasty.

Clearly there is only one acceptable avenue for any television network to take when such outrageous and dreadful comments are made about people, as in the case of Phil Robertson’s gay tirade.  He must be fired, and if that means the end of the show then that will be a lesson, much like the ones parents try to impart to their children on a daily basis.  There are consequences for bad decisions.

But for the rest of the country, given that there are so many truly great ways to be entertained and lifted up at the same time why should there be any second-guessing as to what needs to happen to the bigot?

slashthroughbigotrythumb

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    December 24, 2013 11:11 PM

    The term “bigotry” is subjective at best, if not in its definition than in its application. Interestingly, there is no defense against this charge.

    And I admit that all uses of quotes are subjective. Consider for example how when we want to look at selective quotes from Helen Thomas we can see her in a very negative light. But I think one must acknowledge what the duck-dude is saying: while he struggles and cannot accept some things about human nature, sexuality, and race that you and I might, he is not so arrogant as to see himself as better than those he seems to fear and misunderstand. If he actually tries to love them, he will be better and more humane than the majority of us–you and I both. I certainly do not see in his comments the spite and ridicule I commonly associate with bigotry.

    We would be lucky to have more bigots like him, I think.

  2. December 22, 2013 9:22 AM

    Tom,

    Selective use of a quote.

  3. December 22, 2013 9:20 AM

    Dale,

    There is just no way to defend the position from which you are coming. Try and try but those who are targeted by the words and consequences of the vile comments such as those made by the man in this post are not the bigots. You either have standards by which you live, or you do not. I repeat that if a child were to act out in the fashion that Robertson did responsible parents would respond. Society has standards too, and that reaction in no way is bigotry.

  4. December 22, 2013 8:28 AM

    It’s not my definition of bigotry. See Merriam-Webster.

  5. Tom permalink
    December 21, 2013 7:49 PM

    “However, I would never treat anyone with disrespect just because they are different from me. We are all created by the Almighty and like Him, I love all of humanity. We would all be better off if we loved God and loved each other.”

  6. December 21, 2013 10:14 AM

    You obviously have a far different definition of bigotry than I, or that of the consensus of the nation has, when it comes to this matter. I stand comfortably with my position.

  7. December 21, 2013 9:49 AM

    You advocated action against him. He did not advocate action against gays.
    “He must be fired, and if that means the end of the show then that will be a lesson, much like the ones parents try to impart to their children on a daily basis. There are consequences for bad decisions.”
    That is intolerance. That is bigotry. The mote in DD’s eye is a timber in yours.

  8. December 21, 2013 9:20 AM

    Martin Bashir expressed an opinion, too. Jimmy The Greek did the same. I use those two covering a span of time to underscore that while it is true one can say whatever one wants, there are still acceptable standards that society expects when it comes to those who have a ‘microphone’. One would not rail against the Irish or the Jews or any other group and except to get away with it, and they should not be able to do such when if comes to gay people. It is interesting how you seem to think one on the receiving end of bigotry is the bigot.

  9. December 21, 2013 5:37 AM

    Who is more intolerant/bigoted , you or DD? I am not so sure. DD expressed an opinion but you seek action against DD for doing so. Who is bigoted?
    I don’t watch the show and never will.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

