Skip to content

Which Republicans Did Not Vote For Paul Ryan As House Speaker?

October 29, 2015

Call them the ‘shining luminaries’ of the Republican congress.

Call them the “Speaker No” crowd.

Ten Republicans on Thursday who did not vote for Paul D. Ryan to be the 54th speaker of the House also didn’t vote to support John A. Boehner, R-Ohio, in January.

Rep. Daniel Webster, R-Fla., won the votes of Dave Brat of Virginia, Curt Clawson of Florida, Louie Gohmert of Texas, Paul Gosar of Arizona, Walter B. Jones of North Carolina, Thomas Massie of Kentucky, Bill Posey and Ted Yoho of Florida and Randy Weber of Texas. Webster abstained from voting for himself after doing so in January.

Clawson, Brat, Gosar, Posey, Yoho and Weber are members of the hard-line House Freedom Caucus.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: