Skip to content

Larry Wilmore Was Dreadful At White House Correspondents’ Dinner

May 1, 2016

Every year I love to watch the White House Correspondents’ Dinner where the tradition of only doing one toast–and that is for the sitting president–never fails to make me smile.  I taped the show and watched with James after we came home from an outing.

Last night the comedy of Larry Wilmore was the weakest and most lame of any in memory.  It was next to dreadful.  Perhaps that was due to the wit and delivery style that President Obama offered with some truly funny lines.

When Wilmore took center stage I thought he was trying to be funny when commenting that Obama should stick to governing and not joke-telling as it makes it harder for comics to do their job.  Little did I know he was serious.

But there was one joke that lifted up and sailed last night and brought a genuine laugh in our home.

And whenever I turn on the TV I see trump’s family campaigning for him. Gushing all over him. Or it’s also known as ‘Morning Joe.’Have you seen ‘Morning — come on, guys, seriously. You know. ‘Morning Joe’ has hair head so far up Trump’s ass they bump into Chris Christie. You know it’s true. You know I’m not lying. You know that’s true.

But it was at the very end when Wilmore–who I must admit I have never watched on Comedy Central–dropped the “N’ word that I had to ask James if I had heard that correctly.

Yo Barry, you did it my n—a.

Simply appalling.    Low class.  Totally inappropriate.

I am quite confident that Wilmore did not enhance his ratings but did confirm for the majority of Americans that he is boring, a lowest common denominator, and not worthy of our attention.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pattilynn9 permalink
    May 1, 2016 2:28 PM

    I didn’t find him funny either. Thankfully, he won’t be back any time soon.

Leave a Reply

