Skip to content

GOP Created Donald Trump

May 10, 2016

Tom, a long-time reader and commenter on this blog, wrote the following today.

Despite their (the left) constant and vicious and unreasoning assault on anyone who disagrees with them, they still believe they had nothing to do with creating Trump or the great wave of anger in the country. Good Grief…..

Over the months I have made it clear my view is that Donald Trump is the ultimate outcome of GOP hate, racism, FAUX NEWS, and the lack of education from the conservative base about a whole array of topics.

Last week syndicated columnist Cynthia Tucker added meat to the bone on this argument.  Her words were printed in my local Sunday paper.  I had clipped it and while it was on a pile next to my computer had no reason to use it at this time.

Until Tom, that is, made his comment that in some way liberals created Trump.    Unless he means that some liberals might be farmers and the billionaire gained strength from eating the fruits of leftist labor there is no place for him to hang his hat.

Or does he mean that the nation had the audacity to elect a black man to be president?

Tucker makes the case that Trump is the creation of the GOP and they now need to own it.

And so it has been through several decades, as the Republican Party has increasingly become the preserve of a contingent of aging white voters uncomfortable with social and cultural change, and fearful as a wave of social movements swept over the land and unmoored them from familiar touchstones.

Any political party that hoped to grow with the modern world would have sought to reassure its voters, to help them adapt as black Americans demanded full equality, as women assumed positions of leadership, as gay and lesbian Americans stepped out of the shadows.

A political party that had its eye on attracting a broad base of younger voters would have tried to reassure its older constituents about immigration, reminding them that their ancestors, too, came here from other lands.

Instead, leading Republicans pandered to the fears and prejudices of their constituents.

They updated and refined the old Southern strategy to signal to their voters that the party remained skeptical of black Americans’ continuing fight for social justice.

They played along as conservative media outlets, such as Fox News, fed GOP voters a steady diet of made-up “facts” and manufactured outrage.

Instead of trying to prepare their constituents for a more diverse country, GOP leaders caved when their voters balked at immigration reform.

(Yes, the party’s 2012 postmortem called for outreach to Latino voters, but that was too little, too late.)

And Republican leaders helped to stoke the fires of mistrust and resentment of Obama, engaging in the most irresponsible tactics and outlandish rhetoric to sink his agenda.

Along comes Trump, perfectly positioned to abandon the subtle dog whistles of past campaigns and engage in full-throated bigotry and misogyny.

Despite his insistence that he can moderate his pitch for the general election, he’ll go after the Democratic nominee, likely Clinton, with the same unhinged and outrageous invective for which he is so well known.

He is the harvest, yielding its bitter fruit and poisoning the party of Abraham Lincoln.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2016 11:13 PM

    My statement is not meant to be aimed at you personally. The statement is meant to get at what you might mean by the left being part of the problem in creating Trump. So the question asked if you thought the left simply had the audacity to elect a black man( with the implied knowledge it would tick off a segment of the nation.) As for the sports comment–no way that matters. As for your nice note–thanks.

  2. tom permalink
    May 10, 2016 9:38 PM

    I have read this blog for a long time. Longer than almost anyone else. One thing I’ve noticed is the prominence of those blue Adirondack chairs. To me, they’ve always been symbolic of conversation, openness, and community. As I’ve read, I’ve sometimes imagined I’d happen upon them and sit down. You or James would come out and I’d mention who I was and you would chuckle and offer me a beer. We would talk, and you would school me about politics and history. The conversation might be heated at times, but that would be okay. We disagree about a lot. After all, who else is worth talking to?

    This being said, having read the post I was a little concerned about one part. It made me think that perhaps you must have found some of my recent comments personally offensive—perhaps my suggestion that you would never attend a Badger game. If this is the case, I’d like to apologize. Sincerely. The reason I think this must be the case, and that some apology on my part is due is because you suggest that I am racist with your comment “Or does he mean that the nation had the audacity to elect a black man to be president?” I really don’t know how else to read that comment. It makes me wonder how one might ever defend himself from such an accusation. It is like being in front of Judge Danforth from Miller’s play as he confidently mentions that “the girls do testify.” I don’t know if that makes any sense.

    In the end, I hope that you would remove that comment from your post as a sign that you accept my apology if I have offended you. I have enjoyed this years- long argument and hope it could continue.

    Sincerely,

    Tom

Leave a Reply

