Skip to content

Rashad Sultan Khan And The Democratic Convention

July 28, 2016

CaptHumayunKhanUS-Army_rev24095411925

UPDATED

The words from the father of Kareem Rashad Sultan Khan brought tears to this household as he stood on the stage of the Democratic Convention.

Khizr Khan, the father of a Muslim-American Army captain who died in combat, delivered arguably the week’s most stinging critique against Trump. “Donald Trump consistently smears the character of Muslims. He disrespects other minorities, women, judges, even his own party leadership. He vows to build walls and ban us from this country. Donald Trump, you are asking Americans to trust you with our future. Let me ask you: Have you even read the U.S. Constitution? I will gladly lend you my copy”

Simply so heartfelt.

The New Colossus – Emma Lazarus

 
Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A might woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles.  From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome, her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.
“Keep ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips.  “Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”
3 Comments leave one →
  1. pattilynn9 permalink
    July 29, 2016 1:12 PM

    There’s words…and there’s body language. To me, she was speaking another story.

  2. July 29, 2016 11:08 AM

    For this American I can tell you honestly he made me the most emotional of anything in the four days I saw or heard. Same for my partner, James. His words were simply stated from the heart. I had no problem hearing his words or understanding them and the audience at the arena clearly heard them. It is overpowering to stand before 50,000 and the audience of the world via TV and the wife was reported to have been nervous and chose not to speak. I suspect that when this convention is viewed in totality the father’s words will be considered the most memorable, and dramatic.

    He said (in part) the following.

    “Donald Trump, you’re asking Americans to trust you with their future. Let me ask you, have you even read the United States Constitution?”

    Then, to cheers, he pulled out a pocket edition.

    “I will gladly lend you my copy,” he said.

    “Go look at the graves of brave patriots (at Arlington) who died defending United States of America. You will see all faiths, genders and ethnicities.”

    Many Republicans are echoing my words today–including Erick Erickson and the daughter of John McCain who called it “the most powerful” moment of the convention.

  3. pattilynn9 permalink
    July 29, 2016 5:49 AM

    Was his message that effective? I could hardly hear his words…instead I was struck by the appearance of his wife who stood there mute. Seemingly cowed by her husband. I saw marital subjugation on display….not helpful in overcoming the supposed stereotype.

Leave a Reply

