Skip to content

NBC Losing Viewers In Droves During Olympic Coverage

August 19, 2016

I always enjoy knowing how the ratings are for major events that play out over television.   So you might expect me to be curious how the Olympics are faring for NBC.  I am rather stunned by the news this morning.   Overnights have been mixed since the start of the games but the degree to which they have fallen off is hard to fathom.   While I love the winter games every four years and watch hour after hour of coverage I have not watched anything other than the opening ceremonies from Rio.  Apparently many feel the way I do.  But for a nation that thrives on sports the lack of viewers is befuddling.

NBC’s prime-time broadcast Wednesday delivered 20.7 million total viewers. That’s a 14 percent decline from Tuesday night, a 21.5 percent decline from last Wednesday, a 29 percent decline from the same night during the London Olympics in 2012, and a 16 percent decline from the same night at the Beijing Games in 2008.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. pattilynn9 permalink
    August 19, 2016 9:41 PM

    I haven’t watched either. Not even the opening ceremony. I have sorta kept up, hearing the winners’ clips on news programs….and seeing headlines on computer home page. In the past I’ve liked ladies gymnastics, etc. This yr, not even that. Why? Dunno, maybe it wasn’t promoted enough / correctly?? Doing other things too.

  2. August 19, 2016 12:49 PM

    I am not a fan of track and field events. I love down hill skiing and figure skating along with many other sports at the winter games. I also love to be outdoors in summer and so watching television at night is hard for me to do.

  3. Marilyn permalink
    August 19, 2016 12:09 PM

    Do not understand that. Have been delighted that both NBC AND NBCSN covers the games..You never said why you chose not to watch…US teams and individuals have won medals in areas we have not won in for decades…Do not understand..

Leave a Reply

