Skip to content

My Relative, Chelsea Manning, May Receive Commutation From President Obama

January 11, 2017

Chelsea Manning is my second cousin.  Today a Justice Department source reports a decision on commutation could come as soon as Wednesday for Manning, a former Army intelligence analyst sentenced to 35 years in prison for swiping 700,000 military files and diplomatic cables and giving them to WikiLeaks.  Manning, a transgender woman formerly known as Bradley, delivered an apology to the nation before she was sentenced.

I have never been a huge fan of Manning’s father, Brain, and feel that better parenting in so many ways would have allowed this entire episode to have never occurred had better avenues been presented in lieu of joining the military.  How could any parent not counsel strongly that a military path was not best suited to a small framed guy like Bradley, who also had other issues that were being confronted.

I am very  heartened by this news and trust that Obama will act as is now being reported.

Previously I have made it clear that action was required on behalf of Manning.

The conditions that Manning so long had to endure was nothing short of shocking.  The isolation and quirky, even outlandish regimen that includes being held for 23 hours daily in solitary confinement and being stripped naked every night for a search was degrading and unnecessary.  Whatever mental state Manning went into confinement with can not have been enhanced with the unwarranted actions that have taken place.  This was mental torture.

Let this horrid story end with compassion.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. LeRoy permalink
    January 16, 2017 11:57 AM

    What an odd comment about eye care in a Manning post but one does have to ask what type of shoddy insurance was bought. This was the very type of lack of comprehensive coverage for major medical matters that required federal involvement with health care. Too many were playing around with too little coverage. Not having forethought about future health needs means that perhaps better judgment is called for when making insurance choices in the future. As to Manning I suspect the good news will come on Thursday. I am glad your family will see justice prevail in this case.

  2. January 14, 2017 10:56 AM

    Pk,

    You are correct in that your comment was shortened. I expect those who comment to self-edit and since that was not done I did it for you. The facts of your eye matter were still understandable for others to know about. If you have your own political points to make beyond that, and wish not to be edited, I suggest starting a blog.

  3. Pkarm permalink
    January 14, 2017 7:18 AM

    If you would be so kind to note that you did edit my post that would be appreciated.

  4. January 13, 2017 10:33 PM

    PK,

    One certainly hopes that your eye matter is dealt with in a timely manner. From what I understand the medical world has made tremendous progress with your situation. As you are aware I have been a firm supporter of national health care. I believe that health care is a right and one that every citizen should be able to use. I trust that you also see the wisdom of working to ensure that more people are covered so to allow them to live life fully and be productive. If you are facing uncertainty imagine what someone might feel with your eye condition who has no job, in say Northern Wisconsin, and perhaps not even employed and with no savings. The reason we act with compassion at the election box is to make sure answers can be found for situations like yours when they arise. I tried my hardest in November to make it better for my fellow citizens, folks like you.

  5. pkarm permalink
    January 13, 2017 1:51 PM

    Went in this week to set up cataract surgery for my eyes only to find out that I have Fuchs’ corneal dystrophy and most likely will be blind in 5 to 10 years if I don’t get a cornea transplant which will cost in the $40,000 to $50,000 range. Is there government help for someone like me, nope I have to figure out how to save my sight on my own. Why should someone who works to provide for his family, pays taxes get treated as second class.

  6. January 12, 2017 10:06 AM

    Exactly, Mark. That is why a concerted effort has been made with many making their feelings known to the president. I do believe this will happen. .

  7. Mark E. Bye permalink
    January 12, 2017 7:01 AM

    Ran across this one this morning, Deke. Thought you might be interested.

    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jan/12/chelsea-manning-prison-obama-commute-sentence

Leave a Reply

