Skip to content

Letter From Home “Chocolate Crosses!” 3/3/17

March 3, 2017

Tonight at the grocery store I saw something that made me feel uncomfortable in an odd sort of way. In the Easter candy aisle there were Hershey edible chocolate crosses for sale.   I think it just unseemly to make a cross into a cheap sale to be consumed and marketed with Happy Easter on the box.  I had to look twice as it was simply stunning to see.

I am a Christian though I trust others who might not be would also sense the same unease knowing there is such an item for sale. Perhaps I am just old-school but there is something wrong to bite off a piece of a cross which symbolizes the place Jesus was crucified and died.  How a major company got this past the usual focus-group prior to having it hit the store shelves is something I really would like to know more about.  Everything about this item screams wrong!  Unless we have come so far in this nation that nothing is beyond the pale any longer.

I am fully aware that anything goes these days when it comes to how people behave and what they say. I cringe when hearing kids under age 10 at the mall talk like a sailor or when women, for instance, wear what mom would have called a slip as a top when attending a wedding in a church.  Some might call me a curmudgeon but I just happen to think good taste is never old-fashioned. And I am glad to see others share my views.

At another store this evening a guy in his 30’s told me that he would never have been allowed to sit at their dinner table in his home with a hat on his head. I was heartened to hear that and we chatted for a couples minutes as he worked the check out line. (How we got to such a topic is just due to my chatty nature. I am very much, in this regard, like my dad when it comes to talking with strangers.)

And so it goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2017 11:46 AM

    Agree about that hat anywhere on in the house, and also with you about men dressing standards changing too–in some cases JUST PULL YOUR PANTS UP! Have a nice weekend.

  2. pattilynn9 permalink
    March 4, 2017 7:20 AM

    Well…at the Last Supper, Jesus passed around bread and wine saying this is my body and blood. A little chocolate cross doesn’t offend me. At least it is somewhat related to Easter, unlike rabbits who lay eggs and baskets of plastic pink and blue grass.

    It’s not only women who have changed their dress standards. Just sayin’.
    Oh, and no hat wearing in the house period. Not just at the dinner table.

Leave a Reply

