Skip to content

Wisconsin Citizens Do Rely Upon Public Notices In Local Newspapers

March 5, 2017

In my mind I can still see Dad combing through the Waushara Argus, our local newspaper, to find the notices concerning local government. Having served on the Hancock Town Board for 44 years he always wanted to make sure the notices about an upcoming meeting or election were printed correctly, and the minutes of meetings along with the decisions taken to have visibility.

Why Dad flipped the pages of those papers was due to the fact he wanted to make sure the work of local government was published, and thereby publicized, so citizens could add their voice and input to the concerns of the day.  He also desired they be kept abreast of how local government functioned.  He knew informed citizens made for contented voters.

I note that memory of mine because in the proposed budget from Governor Scott Walker there is an end to most such public notices being required to be placed in local newspapers. Under Walker’s idea the state would be required to publish only certain notices with the rationale being a mere pittance in savings. The grand total of money saved amounts to $24,000 over the next biennium.

Living in Madison, even with decades removed from my home area, I still enjoy reading the minutes from the county board.   I want to know what is taking place with the school districts and towns that dot the area where I grew up.  One of the main reasons I subscribe to the paper, the one my Dad scanned those many years ago, is to be informed on matters about local governments.  That information is made public via the very notices Walker now wishes to limit.

I live in a tech savvy world.  I blog and upload videos to You Tube.  But I still read newspapers to get most of my news be it from around the state or the world.   In small towns and villages around this state folks who desire to get information about the places they live turn to their hometown papers. That fact, and the continued call for openness and transparency in government from a most unsettled electorate, makes Walker’s idea a non-starter.

I readily admit my love for newspapers and my deep respect for journalists who write the copy.  Some might then think my underlying motive for this matter has to do with the health of an industry which has suffered in the digital age.  While I do have concerns about the future of newspapers I also carry with me the foundations of good local government—which means transparency–from Dad.

I know people don’t routinely go browsing through official government web sites because they have nothing better to do.  But I do know folks still browse all the way through locally printed newspapers.  I also know many of the folks back in my hometown area don’t have computers but still wish to be informed about local government.  Those are the ones–and all the others just like them spread around the state–who the legislature need to be mindful of when they deal with this matter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2017 12:48 PM

    Agreed, Mark. Also add in the federal money that Walker rejected which would have aided in the high speed internet coverage for Northern Wisconsin and the story gets stranger.

  2. Mark E. Bye permalink
    March 6, 2017 11:51 AM

    I don’t know how this gets done without every backwoods recess of the state having access to affordable high speed internet. And then, last night (Channel 7, Wausau) I heard the cost estimate of statewide internet coverage/access to be around $1B?

Leave a Reply

