Skip to content

Why Planned Parenthood Matters

April 27, 2017

Thy most perfectly stated and plainly worded account I have read as to why the Planned Parenthood bashers are simply wrong.  Courtney Kessler nails her argument in a most persuasive column.

I rely on Planned Parenthood for contraceptive care and preventive cancer screenings. I work three part-time jobs, none of which offer me benefits, and I make just above the monthly threshold to qualify for full Medicaid coverage. Planned Parenthood worked with me to get me enrolled in family planning-only Medicaid services, which has a higher income threshold. 

That means I’m able to get regular reproductive health checkups, which is especially important to me because of my family history. I lost my aunt to ovarian cancer three years ago, and I know early detection can mean the difference between successful treatment and a terminal diagnosis.

Planned Parenthood is my only health care provider, and it’s the only place I can access the preventive screenings I need to make sure I’m healthy.

When I hear people say I could just go somewhere else, I don’t think they understand how difficult it is to find a provider that offers the services I need and accepts Medicaid. In fact, in nearly half the counties Planned Parenthood serves, there are no alternative family planning providers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

