Why Not Raise Mink In Downtown Madison Too?


I have no idea as to why raising chickens in the city of Madison seems like a good idea to anyone.  Regardless of the silly ordinance that allows for these critters to be raised now at single-family residences, I see no reason to expand a bad idea.  I know that this issue was in the news a couple of years ago, but had hoped that this notion had gone the way of pet rocks.  But apparently now all the major problems in the city like crime and water purity are resolved so city alders like Marcia Rummel can concentrate again on issues like expanding the number of chickens in the city.  Having been raised in the country I can assure my readers (and my alder) that more than one neighbor would have plenty of reason to object to the smell and noise that come from these animals being raised next door in our fair city.

But if we are going to allow for chickens to be raised, why not also pass an ordinance for raising mink?

I think the noise of the baby minks being killed by their mother, which is a common event for minks, would be a perfect blend to the rancid scent of chicken poop wafting in from the neighbor’s yard on a hot summer day.

Lets face it; there is a place for everything.  Raising chickens are meant for country living, in the penned area next to the barn with the livestock.  Or should we move Bessie to the city too?

For Pete’s Sake!  Let city alders do the real work that is needed in Madison and leave the chickens for the country folks.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Why Not Raise Mink In Downtown Madison Too?

  1. ohoh

    Someone on the politically correct east side is cruisin’ for a brusin’ by some big ol’ lesbians with some big dogs for criticizing their alderwomyn

  2. Um, a good friend of mine lives directly next door to someone who raises several chickens in their backyard. We sit out in the back often, right next to that pen, separated only by a small fence, and not once have I noticed any kind of smell, bad or otherwise. You can barely hear the things, either. They occasionally cluck quietly to themselves, and that’s about it, too.

    Look, I’m not particularly keen on mass chicken raising operations within residential areas, but the current ordinance already (wisely) limits the number that can be kept to 4, and no roosters. Seems fair to me. Keeping chickens means you have a good source of fresh, local eggs at your disposal. Seems like a good idea to me.

    Learn more: http://madcitychickens.com/

  3. Kat

    People used to raise chickens in the city all the time. I don’t really see the issue here — I was living recently on the near west side where a nearby family kept a coop of chickens. They always seemed quiet and clean to me. It never bothered me. People’s ill-trained, shitting, slobby dogs bother me way more. (It’s not that I have anything against dogs per se, but it’s frustrating when people keep huge dogs in tiny city yards and don’t train them well, and then expect you to think they’re so adorable when they leap up on you. UGH. Most dogs should be on farms where they have room to roam freely).

    Also, does Rummel’s work on this mean that she’s not doing other work against crime, etc.? One doesn’t preclude the other.

  4. jon

    I, too, live right next door to a family with chickens. I’ve never noticed a smell and the sounds are much nicer than the traffic, sirens and planes that make up the normal urban soundscape. An added bonus is that they eat bugs and they look beautiful.

  5. Well you know, Marsha Rummel was going to introduce an ordinance to End All Crime and Bad Things in Madison, but she introduced this ordinance instead. I guess that ordinance will never get introduced now :(.

  6. cc

    It is certainly interesting that people living next to chickens don’t seem to mind them. Huh? Maybe you should run for office–so we can choose someone other than you to lead us.

Leave a comment