President Obama, The First Year


Today I feel very proud about President Obama.  As we mark the first year of his stewardship of the nation I look back and see much to be thankful for.

I am aware that governing is a thankless task that requires a balancing act, which in this fractured political culture, is almost impossible to achieve.  Not everyone is going to be pleased.  Some  of my liberal friends want more hard-hitting policies when it comes to bankers and Wall Street, others want single-payer health insurance, while others want gay rights moved  up the agenda.  I  share some, but not to the level and breadth of many, those concerns as expressed by the base.  For instance, I by-and-large support the banking policy and TARP funding.  While my friends on the left often bemoan the lack of swift results, the right cries out that big government is about to swallow us whole.  I hear them all, but find I take great pride in other parts of the leadership and style of President Obama.  I find myself grateful for the little things, such as his sentences have a subject, verb and sometimes an object!  I no longer need to wince when listening  to the President.  Most important though, I am grateful that Obama shares my values. 

This past year the Obama White House has pleased me with its foreign policy moves, and the world reacted with warmth and a growing sense of renewed confidence in shared responsibilities.  It was perfect timing that Obama was able to connect with the world as a black American with Muslim roots when so much of the Islamic world had viewed the past eight years with suspicion and anger.  The fact that Obama shows respect to the world community is exactly the type of leadership I had hoped for.

With two wars to manage it would have been a lot easier to wind both down instead of ramping one up.  But  after a time to reflect and study ( a process I much respect) Obama made the correct decision to try and secure, as best as possible, Afghanistan.  The fight against the Taliban will not be easy, but it is important.  Troop increases that go against the grain of public opinion is never easy, but in this case it shows a seriousness of purpose which I applaud.

There are fights to be waged over health care, cap-and-trade, civil rights, and the likely replacement of Justice Stevens this summer.  All will be contentious and produce frothy debate.   The outcomes are unknown, but one thing is certain.  There is a bright and capable leader in the White House that has taken on many issues at once as the times dictate that it be this way.  With Obama there is a calm and reasoned approach to the process of governing.  He knows this is work for adults, and he treats it that way.  There is a serious pose on his face, and a contemplative nature to the way he conducts the affairs of the nation.  I may want more, and push here and there for greater strides when creating policy.  But at the end of the day I know there is leader in the White House who shares my values, and views of the world.  

That is priceless.  And for that I say Thank You President Obama.

Now forward to year two!

Leave a comment