Martin O’Malley Deserves Serious Look As Democratic Presidential Nominee


This is the time in every presidential election cycle that I let my political heart have the freedom to dream.   In cycles past I have strongly supported the early candidacies of Joe Biden, Jesse Jackson, and John Edwards.  This year based on his strong convictions and success on a host of issues I am really excited about former Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley.

I admire those in history who when given the chance to make a difference stand up and act. Not only has O’Malley done that but made his mark on issues that I strongly care about.

He helped raise the minimum wage, enact strict gun restrictions, eliminate the death penalty and grant in-state tuition to some illegal immigrants. For long time readers to this blog it is easy to see why I am standing with his campaign for president.  On each of those issues I have taken a passionate stand.

Just a few days ago I again brought attention to the problem of those who think we never need to raise more revenue to meet the needs of programs for our time.   O’Malley backed tax increases and higher fees to continue services during the recent recession. Moves of the type he has taken over the course of his career deserve praise and support.

That is not to say there are no differences I have with positions O’Malley takes, such as with trade. But I do heartily agree with his larger arguments about “sensible rebalancing” concerning the divisions of wealth in the nation.

Campaigns for a party’s nomination are about reflecting who we are and where we want to head. They must not be coronations. I want to see a robust and healthy debate within the party over the message that we wish to impart for 2016, and give much thought about who is best able to convey our policy goals and actually win the general election.

It is very true I had some differences with the Clintons over the decades. Though I consider Bill to be a masterful politician, know Hillary is extremely smart, and agree it is long overdue for a woman to be elected president, it is also true that there is plenty of evidence to support the argument that they do not feel every rule or regulation applies to them. And that is troubling.

Many in this nation are well aware of ‘Clinton fatigue’ and the never ending series of dramas that always surround Bill and Hillary. Some controversies are created by political opponents to be sure, but a fair number, such as the email mess during Hillary’s time as Secretary of State are totally self-generated.

I am not one of those deluded ones in the Democratic Party who think it best to place all our eggs in one basket marked Hillary. Therefore I am following my heart with the hope for a nominee with policy credentials, vision, trustworthiness, and likability.

His name is Martin O’Malley.

2 thoughts on “Martin O’Malley Deserves Serious Look As Democratic Presidential Nominee

  1. I do not see that as an issue that will hurt him. He can balance the need for law and order–he being accused of too much of that from some quarters–with his call for action to lower poverty rates and create jobs. i know this sounds like political blather–but I do not think he has as much to worry about from Baltimore as his opponents wish to think.

Leave a comment