GO, CUBS, GO!


I rarely write of sports here, but today there is every reason to acknowledge the Chicago Cubs.  They are in post-season play for the first time since 2003.  And since they are truly America’s team, and perpetual underdogs, I have been their supporter again this season.  This habit of following the Cubs started more than a decade ago when a good friend married a woman who loved the team.  To be better at sports chat I would read the sports stories in order to converse on the topics.  I never have become a baseball fan overall, but do find the Cubbies worthy of my time.

This year the Cubs again provided moments of glory, and times of despair.  Through it all the fans might get weary and complain when the team did not perform, but they always retained the belief that better days for the team were just ahead.  Last night those dreams were realized.

I have never subscribed to the notion that one has to support the team from the state that they live.  I just can find no warmth for the Milwaukee Brewers.  I know they play great ball at times, but they just do not hit the mark.  I would have to care much more about baseball and football to pay real attention to the Brewers or the Packers.  Truth is I just find it hard to get interested in either of those teams. 

However, I find it easy to support the Chicago Cubs in the summer.  They play with such heart and faith in ‘this season’ will be ‘the season’ that they will see their pennant dreams come true.  Every year there is a setback that ruins the plans, but without fail they leave the field saying ‘wait ’til next year’.  That is the American spirit that deserves our support.

I join with millions of others around the nation and say with gusto, “GO, CUBS, GO!”

Technorati Tags: , ,

Leave a comment