Tom Brokaw Winning War On Cancer


The front page of the newspapers have little news that can make one smile this morning.  But there is one item of interest that is just great to read about.  Tom Brokaw, one of the perfectly toned voices in media has reported that his cancer is under control.  All are happy with this news!

Appearing on NBC’s Today show Thursday morning as one of the week’s guest co-hosts, Brokaw said that his multiple myeloma, a cancer affecting blood cells in the bone marrow, “appears to be gone.”

“I’ve gotten some very good news in the last week. … I hope that within six weeks I can be on a drug-maintenance program,” Brokaw said during a segment in which he responded to fans’ questions. “The myeloma appears to be gone. I’ve got one more marker to get down to 0-0 and then I’ll be all right.”

He cautioned, though, that the disease will not completely go away, but it can be managed.

The veteran NBC News correspondent revealed in February that he’d been diagnosed with the disease, saying at the time, after he’d already been undergoing treatment, “I am very optimistic about the future and look forward to continuing my life, my work and adventures still to come.”

One thought on “Tom Brokaw Winning War On Cancer

  1. Solly

    That’s encouraging news. This is the same disease my Mom died of in 1988 at age 72 after a five-year fight, and Sam Walton and Geraldine Ferraro also died from it, altho her fight was longer. Some progress in the War on Cancer is welcome news.

Leave a comment