HELP NEEDED. How Do You Keep Rabbits Out Of Your Flower Gardens?


I promise all replies will be posted!  (But please know I live in the city and I could no more shoot one of these little things than invite him into the house for dinner at the table.)

I love my little animals, but I think that we are about to be over-run by the bunnies.  With spring here, and new green shoots popping out of the ground that will grow into what promises to be glorious blooms, I need help with the bunnies.   We have four of them, and I strongly think that means two couples, and that means even more bunnies!

I have no problem trapping them and moving them to the country, but have been told that it is much easier said than done, as the animals are not easy to catch.  Is there a trick to catching them?

I know that  chemical fence works, but washes away after rains.   However, I also want to be careful about what we put into the soil so it does not add to the lake woes.

Does blood-meal work?  How much do I need?

Are there any home-style remedies that I can consider and use during these spring weeks.

Once the flowers get up and older, I find (from last summer) that the bunnies find the older leaves of the plants not as much fun to munch. 

Thanks to all who consider this issue and post a comment.

7 thoughts on “HELP NEEDED. How Do You Keep Rabbits Out Of Your Flower Gardens?

  1. envisionhope

    You might try cayenne pepper sprinkled around the plants. Sometimes that keeps them back. Or the best way would be a fence with a tight weave inserted into the ground, but it will have to be down a bit as rabbits are good diggers. And if that fails, a dog or cat running about will probably to the trick.

  2. Thomas J Canton

    My mom had this problem. She would let her Persian cats out, once the other rabbits saw a “bloody nose”, the rest of the rabbits would run away.

    The cats also did wonders on the Heron that kept eating the Koi in her retention pond.

  3. butterball

    Hey, I was going to tell you to get a tight weave fence and a barking dog but somebody beat me to it! You can also get a tight weave mesh fence and bury it about six inches into the ground. Rabbits are good diggers but they do give up. Make it metal because they will chew through plastic. Rabbits will eat anything. I speak from experience. I’ve had two growing up. If all else fails you can enjoy having rabbits in the spring!

  4. dadofone

    nothing is eating my garlic chives or my garlic bulbs. not rabbits nor deer nor raccoons seem to bother that stuff. mix some among your flowers.

    option 2 would be to pull the flowers.

    option 3 might be to grow something rabbits like better than flowers in abundance among the flowers as a sacrificial food. i am not sure what that would be.

    option 4 sprinkle dried blood (available as a fertilizer) liberally. supposedly deters deer also.

  5. Marion

    There is a metal fence with graduated oblong openings available at most hardware stores. It goes from small holes at the bottom to larger at the top. It’s made especially for bunnies and small rodents. That’s all I know that will deter them. Funny, where I live rabbits never came near the garden but the deer sure did! Loved my glads, ate the flowers right off them.
    Pauline

    human hair will keep the deer away…get at beautican shop

  6. jayne

    Have them for lunch. It’s a good share your own fault. You feed them and everything else and then when they come for seconds and bring their friends you want them to leave. Well James is a good cook, have them for lunch.

Leave a comment