‘Do Not Use My Name Without Permission’


This is simply absurd.

Councilman Kirby Delauter of Frederick County, Maryland lashed out on Saturday at a reporter for using his name in an article without his permission.

In a Facebook post, Delauter slammed reporter Bethany Rodgers of the Fredericks News-Post “for an unauthorized use of my name and my reference” in an article over the weekend.

“So let me be clear,” he continued, apparently addressing Rodgers, “do not contact me and do not use my name or reference me in an unauthorized form in the future.”

Rodgers responded, telling the council member that reporters are not required to seek a public figure’s permission before using his or her name.

Delauter responded with a threat: “Use my name again and you’ll be paying for an Attorney [sic].

Can anyone imagine how bloggers would be stunted from writing if no one’s name could be used without permission!

Simply absurd!

Leave a comment