All-Star Rodeo In Madison Was Sexist, Racist, And Politically Conservative


This should not have happened in Madison.

I read this review of the All-Star Rodeo that made its way into Madison recently, and was really shocked.  The rodeo’s of my childhood (Manawa, Wisconsin) were not like the one that played out here in Madison.  In my youth dad bought snow cones for my mom and me as we all watched reckless antics  in the stands.  As a kid rodeos were about fun and skill, but it seems red-neck conservatives have changed everything.  That is a shame as I still think at the heart of a rodeo there can be lots of fun.  But as Penelope Trunk’s blog explains my childhood rodeo days are only memories.  What happened here in Madison this weekend is a real shame.  It is just embarrassing to read about.

Before there were animals there was the flag, rising above the dirt ring, and the announcer saying everyone should sing the Star Spangled Banner to honor “the flag that protects our troops, and our churches and our great country.”

I looked over at the farmer for churches, and before I could roll my eyes, the announcer said, “Everyone please rise in the name of Jesus and sing the Star Spangled Banner.”

I told my kids to stay seated.

The farmer stayed seated out of solidarity even though he hates standing out. It was a great moment of compromise for us.

###

In between cowboys falling violently to the ground, the announcer would say jokes like, “My girlfriend says she wants to get married. I told her I hope she finds someone nice.”

The theme of the evening, in general, was “real men get thrown off bulls and treat women like crap.”

Until the women came out. They were acrobats on fast running horses. Sort of like the clowns, only dressed like Dallas Cowboy cheerleaders. The most special time, I think, was when two girls did tricks on one horse. The girls did not share a horse because the tricks are more difficult that way, it was more like the girls shared a horse to make you think they’d be available for a threesome after the show.

Luckily, this was lost on my sons. And the farmer acknowledged that this was not a family values kind of thing.

###

Okay. So we stayed. And then, the clown started talking about doctors. He said there are 120,000 doctors in the US and there are 70,000 accidental deaths a year. And there are 80 million gun owners in the US, and there are 12,000 accidental deaths a year. Then he shouted out, “So doctors are more dangerous than guns! So Washington, keep your hands off our guns and our health care!”

I looked at the kids. They were concentrating on their popcorn.

Then, out of nowhere, the clown brought out a wig, that had dreadlocks, and he put on a Rastafarian hat, and he started pretending that he was Barack Obama. He said, “I feel so presidential.” And he made jokes about whether Obama is a US citizen.

Why am I telling you this?

First of all, it made me feel lonely. I have heard the doctor/gun owner argument before, but not in a stadium, in Madison, WI, which is one of the most left-leaning cities in the country. And I know there is racism in this country. But I can’t believe that not a single person in that stadium yelled out anything after a racist joke. I would expect, actually, that people would boo and hiss and throw things into the ring. But no one said a word.

I felt lonely that I live in a city where this could happen. I wish I could find a place where I feel like I fit in. I think I find it, and then I don’t. And really, how could I even think that I’d fit in at a rodeo? But I kind of thought the place would be full of people like me and the farmer. Now I think I don’t even know what that means.

16 thoughts on “All-Star Rodeo In Madison Was Sexist, Racist, And Politically Conservative

  1. Two years ago, during the presidential primaries, there were a number of complaints about the rodeo in Manawa. Based on the letters to the editor for those few weeks, it appears that the same announcer was making cracks about Hillary Clinton, and comparing her to the back end of one of the bulls.

    Apparently, he also made a reference to a black bull, Obama, and satisfying Hillary.

    It was totally disgusting.

  2. Thanks Chris for the comment. I appreciate the information.

    I also want to add that I was a kid in the 70’s and those shows at Manawa back then were really special. I am very sorry to hear that something I have such warm memories over has been tarnished. I do again, however, say thanks for the update.

  3. Unfortunately, I noticed something similar during the annual county fair parade here in Texas last August. A large flag with a semi-automatic rifle and the words “Come and Take It” was carried down the street to much applause, whoops and hollers. There also was an anti-abortion “float”, if you will, where nothing of that sort has ever been in this parade in the past. It used to be all about “Us”, but now it’s us versus them—and I’m afraid I qualify as one of “them.”

  4. Paulette

    Thank you for highlighting Penelope Trunk’s comments about the rodeo. You have a lot of readers, and it’s important that they know what happened. Btw, though the Alliant Energy Center is a Dane County facility, it is funded by the events themselves, not our tax money.

  5. It’s reminiscent of a scene from the movie “Borat” (which also involved a rodeo and offensive comments).

    I think it’s a mistake for those who are offended to stay. They should leave and demand their money back. Otherwise, the All Star Rodeo organizers will believe that all of their audience enjoys those kinds of remarks. Hit them in the pocketbook.

    Somehow, I suspect the events sanctioned by the International Gay Rodeo Association are more family-friendly than the All Star Rodeo. There may still be rodeos like the ones you remember from your childhood.
    http://www.igra.com/aboutus.html

      1. Skip

        No I’m not. What’s so exceptional about this city? Such a thing can happen anywhere. There are rednecks in Madison, racists, extreme right-wing conservatives, etc.

        What makes Madison exceptional?

        1. For many years we bought more books per captia than other places our size. We have 40,000 college students on a campus noted as a major university, and are the home to state goverment and scores of state employees. The level of education and understanding, by and large, is quite high in this city. There are lines we do not allow to be crossed. Such lines are easier to do in places like, say, Green Bay. I know we have rednecks and the rest you mentioned in Madison, but I think they are not accepted in public to the degree they are elsewhere. So the fact this rodeo happened in the way it did, and the fact no one stood up and yelled ‘foul’ is shocking. There are things that can happen in Green Bay or Rice Lake etc. that should never happen here.

          I do take great pride in this city. And I like the best to shine, and this rodeo was not such a moment.

          Now granted all the folks in attendance may have been from elsewhere…

  6. Ted Wallace

    Wow, its not that big of a deal. Hey heres an idea, if you are so offended by whats goin on why didnt you stand up and say something. No you were going to wait until someone else said something then you would have chimed in. You’re only posting this because somebody else already posted something similar. No wonder you feel alone, you can’t do anything on your own. Kind of sad if you ask me, an adult that can’t make thier own decisions. Ice bear judges you.

    1. Yeah, it IS that big of a deal.

      As stated in my post I was shocked to read the review of the rodeo. I think most readers would understand that then means I was not there. Had I been there I would have written the piece from a first-hand point of view.

      If you know me at all then you are aware your second point is just baseless.

  7. Dennis

    I understand your distain for the event. What I don’t understand is:
    1. Why you deemed it proper not to stand during the singing of the Start Spangled Banner and display of the American flag.

    2. Why you did not show your distain by complaining to the management and walk out.

    On point # 1 What message are you sending to your kid? It is alright to show disrespect toward our nations flag and everythuing it stands for, as long as you do it as a family.
    On point # 2 If you are unhappy with your situation, just sit quietly and hope someone else complains so you can join in. If that doesn’t happen, wait and write about it afterwards.

    You make me sick.

    1. When the flag is used for political purposes by conservatives in the manner if was used at the rodeo…..read what the lady wrote…no one should stand.

      I agree with her.

      However at my home we fly a large American flag, and do it for the right reasons.

      While I think children should be good citiznes I do not want them saluting soldiers for fighting wars over oil and greed. I want kids to know what real patriotism is, not the conservative crap that is ginned up so the most stupid can feel good about their country.

  8. Mary

    It irritates me that our troops protect pantywaisted sissies like you just like they do me. If you can’t take a little low brow humor, don’t go to a rodeo.

  9. GeorgiaCowboy

    Mam,
    I’ve read you blog, and I respect your comments, but I totally disagree with you. 1st, While you sat down for the star spangled banner, someone across the country was fighting for your right to do just that.
    You complained that the rodeo was conservative, let me tell you it’s no crime to be conservative. Rodeo’s are known for being conservative. Just because it didn’t meet your own political views, doesn’t mean that the rodeo was a complete fail. We’re just not big on that big on people like Obama.
    Lastly, you complained nobody booed or hissed when racist jokes were made. If it upset you that much, why didn’t you stand up and boo or hiss? If you don’t agree with whats going on, work to change it, or don’t come back. But don’t give Rodeo’s a bad name because they go against everything you believe. In that case, please, just stay home.
    I’m sorry that your kids are growing up with a mother who will not let them make their own choices. Have some pride in America, take some pride in this great country of ours, but don’t spout your ideas on how this should be better and not work to change them.

    Georgia Cowboy

Leave a comment