Greg Jarrett Is Best With WGN Radio Volume Turned Off


Picture from Robert Feder site linked to in story.

UPDATE–Steve and Johnnie rumored to be leaving WGN radio.

Lets face it, things could only be worse if  Greg Jarrett were on television.

Isn’t there another soccer match anywhere in the world that we can pay Greg Jarrett to attend, and have him off the WGN airwaves?  The best weeks recently for morning radio in Chicago were the ones Jarrett spent in South Africa.  Bob” Sirott filled in for the ego-driven Jarrett, and radio listeners were allowed the warmth, candor, and humor of a real broadcasting talent.  Best of all Sirott was CLUED into the city he lives in………which leads me to the latest WGN embarrassment.

Greg Jarrett knows far less about Chicago than I do, and I reside in Madison, Wisconsin. I have never…..ever…..heard such a pompous know-it-all on radio, when in reality he is not well-versed on Chicago in any way.  There are times that I just want to shake the radio!  Greg Jarrett proved again big-time why he is not suited for the Windy City, and now all are laughing over the egg Greg Jarret has on his face.  When  Greg Jarrett  plopped his over-sized butt and ego into the morning chair of WGN radio there were hundreds of thousands wondering what the heck happened.  This was the same place that Wally Phillips once called home!  Anyone who has that spot on the AM dial needs to have  better pulse of the city than to suggest that Bill Kurtis was not a Chicago institution with a local address.   For that truly stupid remark came this volley from the pen of Robert Feder.

Greg Jarrett again proved why he’s unfit to host mornings on the Tribune Co.-owned news/talk station:

“Bill, are you going to be living in Chicago again?” Jarrett asked. “I mean, you’re going to be on TV every night at 6.”

Living in Chicago again? Are you kidding me? It’s not clear where Jarrett thought Kurtis has been living for the last quarter-century. (In New York? On his ranch in Kansas? On the moon, perhaps?) But it is clear that Jarrett didn’t have a clue that Kurtis and his longtime partner, Donna LaPietra, have been one of Chicago’s most prominent and influential couples in media, social and civic circles since Harold Washington was mayor

It’s been more than a year now since Jarrett got off the bus from San Francisco and stepped right into the WGN morning job — arguably the most venerated and important radio position in Chicago — without one day’s prior experience in the market. From the moment he signed on here, he’s shown a penchant for parading his ignorance of local personalities and places. Nevertheless, his bosses repeatedly have defended their decision to hire him, even as they recently announced plans to cut his show back by 30 minutes. At least that’s a step in the right direction.

Somewhere, you just know, Wally Phillips and Bob Collins are weeping.

12 thoughts on “Greg Jarrett Is Best With WGN Radio Volume Turned Off

  1. Judy Pike

    The sad thing is WGN is not on my radio now. I can’t stand the early show, and John Williams is my only person. I hope his afternoon slot will be okay. The Saturday stuff from 9:00 am is CRAP….
    Boy what a shame. My radio never used to be off.

  2. Judi

    I agree 100%. I worry everyday that they will take John Williams off all together. I really miss the old WGN on my 1 hour drive to work. How do they determine the ratings? I read in the paper that they claim their ratings are up!? How can this be true? I do not know anyone that likes the changes.

  3. Lori F.

    I really liked Greg Jarrett, is wgn going bonkers, the cut Jerrett and keep very boring Dean Richards. Now that guy really has to go. The only people I ever listened to on wgn where Gregg Jerrett, Steve and Johnnie, John Williams. On the week end Mr. fix it Lou. Love Brian N. and Nick. Now I will be finding a new station to listen to. What a shame and now they are going to replace Steve and Johnnie with some un know guy instead of putting Brian and Nick to fill the void. Wgn Is going down the tubes. Who ever is in charge of all these decisions should be FIRED.

    Lori

  4. Linda M Lake CADC

    I have been a WGN morning fan now for over 40 years.(I am 60)Yes, I was listening at the age of 20! If it were not for the kind, caring, funny, silly, loving, truly class acts of the past, morning radio would never of been what it was! Yes, WAS! We learned something from those guys, the icons of radio. If it were not for Wally, I would of never been able to deal with living at Childrens Memorial when my daughter was sick. No, he did not come there, but he was there! He was in my life to listen to. The wisdom, strength, love he displayed on the show went with you all day long! He didn’t just love Chicago, he loved people!!! Same for Bob! Bob taught me to beleive in myself, try something I was not good with. Yes Bob was a risk taker but like Wally, he loved us!!!!! His years of AM radio, got you up on time and pushed you through to do the best you could do. I have always been good with morals and ethics I want to beleive that alot of that is partially do to all the AM radio I listened to. When you fill a slot, not just look at liking Chicago, Look at LOVING PEOPLE, with good morals and ethics!!!! Linda Lake

  5. jan musch

    jan musch

    after 60 years of listening to WGN, i have turned to another station.
    now WGN just a yuppie pyppy station. just brain garbage with loud mouth boys.

Leave a comment